Skip to content


1. What is the Māori Government and what is their role?

The Māori Government is the administrative arm of Te Wakaminenga o Nga Hapu o Nu Tireni. The Māori Government help to operationalise decisions made in the national Te Wakaminenga o Nga Hapu o Nu Tireni, or a hapu wakaminenga.

He Wakaputanga article 4 declared that all those coming to Nū Tīreni New Zealand shores to settle, and trade would be protected, including their property rights, human rights and freedom of choice. That is why we invite all people to join us and help with governance at both the local and national levels.

2. What is a Wakaminenga?

It is a Confederation or general assembly of the United Tribes where they met to make decisions and frame laws according to their national constitution “He Wakaputanga o Tino Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni 1835 (Declaration of Independence o Nu Tireni 1835)

3. What jurisdiction does the Māori Government operate under?

The Maori Government operate under “Native Māori Jurisdiction”. It is the first nation jurisdiction of Nu Tireni (New Zealand). It is also recognised in pre and post-treaty British imperial law.

4. Who are Māori?

Māori are the native indigenous people of Nu Tireni. Māori are also the first nations people.

5. Why are Māori allowed their own government?

Maori had their own government before Te Tiriti o Waitangi was signed. The first collective form of Māori Government was Te Wakaminenga at Te Ngaere in 1805, Muriwhenua – Northland. It is also recognised in pre and post treaty British imperial law. He Wakaputanga 1835 and article 2 of Te Tiriti o Waitangi secures it for the future.