About Us

Maori Government

 The Wakaminenga Maori Government’s role is to provide administration and support services to Te Wakaminenga National Congress of Nu Tireni, New Zealand and to rohe/area wakaminenga made up of hapu, iwi and communities.  The Wakaminenga Maori Government was established in 1983 as a continuance of various entities such as the Native Government of Nu Tireni and the Kohimarama parliament that was formed in the latter part of the 19th century.  All had one thing in common to activate and support Te Wakaminenga National Congress to govern over the affairs of Nu Tireni in consultation with rohe/area or tribal wakaminenga within the four winds or nga hau e wha of Nu Tireni New Zealand.  The four winds o nga hau e wha are large regional areas that cover the whole country, known as Taitokerau in the North, Te Tai Hauauru in the West and Te Tairawhiti in the East all located in the North Island of Nu Tireni New Zealand also known as Te Ika-a- Maui  and Te Tai Tonga the whole of the South Island Nu Tireni New Zealand also known as Te Waipaunamu. 

The Sovereign Parliament known as the Wakaminenga National Congress derived from Te Wakaminenga o Nga Hapu o Nu Tireni. Leaders or heads of tribes represent their rohe/area wakaminenga made up of  hapu, iwi and communities  in Te Wakaminenga National Congress of Nu Tireni in accordance with our constitution, He Wakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni 1835.  Te Wakaminenga National Congress’s role is to unify the people and to have oversight of national and international matters that affect our country as a whole.  The tribal or community wakaminenga influence the decision making of Te Wakaminenga National Congress and a consultation process is in place to ensure rohe/area Wakaminenga o Nga Hapu, Iwi and communities are properly consulted. Nu Tireni is sometimes spelt – Nu Tirene, or Niu Tireni, or Nu Tirani depending on the scribe at the time as the Maori language was originally unwritten.




The Wakaputanga (Constitution) provides a framework for national self-governance and consists of four [4] articles and four [4] major objectives of the Wakaminenga.

These include:

  • 1: Framing of laws
  • 2: Dispensation of Justice
  • 3: Maintaining Peace and Good Social Order
  • 4: Regulation of Trade

He Wakaputanga – the Foundation